Thankful for Last Weekend

There are plenty of things to be thankful for and I, for one, am thankful for the past weekend. Celebrating Thanksgiving in the US was such a new experience for me, since we never (never!) observed this day in the Philippines. All I knew was what I saw in the movies…families and friends getting together to have a nice dinner with stuffed turkeys. And we did just that. Well, except preparing and stuffing the turkey. We bought a roasted turkey breast from a grocery instead (haha!).

8e10311658cd11e3b8351283df6e2051_8We had mashed potatoes as a siding too. “Winner, winner, turkey dinner”, indeed! Haha!

After eating dinner, we headed straight to Target to see what the fuss was about. Our morning paper had all these ads about “Door-busting Deals!” so we wanted to check them out. Most stores open at 8pm on Thanksgiving to start off the Black Friday sale that everyone’s been waiting for. And clearly, it was worth waiting in line (in the chilly weather) for!

2013-11-28 20.27.07The line was scary loooong! See that couple in the middle of the road? They were one of the first ones in line and came out with a 50″ LED TV. Heard it was just $200+! šŸ˜®

All the other big stores were on sale too during the whole weekend. Everyone just came out to shop and have a good time. I splurged :/ But! I also bought Christmas gifts while I was on it…and my pedometer tracked 10,161 steps that day! Ā (yay for health benefits! :D)

All I can say is that, my first Thanksgiving experience wasn’t bad at all…it was actually great! I am thankful for it. I am also thankful for all the experiences I’ve had this 2013. A year ago I wouldn’t have thought I’d be where I am now.

1c8af87258e211e3a7d40a4cce3aa0e4_8

Tried to channel “The First Thanksgiving in Plymouth” with my outfit haha!

So what are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

