What Everyone’s New Year’s Resolution Should Be

I know making/having New Year’s resolutions is starting to be a bit of a cliche now, but it is always good to look forward to improving your lifestyle for the coming year.

I personally am not a big fan of New Year’s resolutions, but I admit, I’ve had some for the past years. Looking back on my planner, I realize I never really fulfilled them; forgetting about them on the 2nd month or so, or even half the 1st month. This year, I promised myself that I will try my best to achieve my one and only resolution for 2014: stay positive. So far, I’ve been thinking positive and I’ve been wanting to think positive, but my actions and/or words reciprocate. It is not easy to think positive in every situation life throws to you, and it’s okay. We’re just humans. I found out that not all humans are capable of this, because we are emotional people (hello captain obvious). But if you approach positivity with open arms, everything will go with the flow. Remember, it takes 21 straight days to form a habit. So we’ve got some work to do!

Let’s start with the small steps:
1. Surround yourself with positive people.
2. Everyday, write things you are thankful for.
3. Meditate.
4. Choose to think positively.
5. Do good deeds. Help other people.

Now for the big steps:
1. Forget about everything that’s pulling you down. Only reminisce on bad memories when you think you’re strong enough to just shrug them off and laugh at them and yourself.
2. Enjoy your own company. It’s not easy to walk around alone in a mall, go shopping, or worse, eat alone in a restaurant. I’ve done it several times and I must admit, they weren’t pretty bad. In fact, it gives you time to think about things, and you go on your own pace. I look forward to the next time I go shopping by myself. It gives off the aura of being a strong, independent woman. Being alone doesn’t necessarily mean you’re lonely.
3. There’s always a positive side to everything negative. Sure, you think first of the negative effects, but try to focus otherwise.
4. The most important thing to remember: God loves you. Leave everything to Him– have faith and your state of mind will instantly improve.

So are you up for the challenge? You don’t have to do everything at once for 21 days. It just takes you 21 straight days of doing something to make it a habit.

I myself have these things to keep in mind, and it’s not an easy process. I used to think so negatively and it really affected my mood a lot. I am a child learning to embrace my womanhood and the responsibilities that I was forced to engage in. Being a positive person and having a positive outlook on life will not only help your mind, but it will rub off on other people as well. And if things don’t go your way, remember that God has better plans for you than you have for yourself. Just be patient because everything happens for a reason.

 

-S

Leave a Reply

